London Calling – Travel Entry #4

We recently arrived in London, and took a stroll down the Portobello Road. The pastel colors on the buildings seem to make this gloomy day a little brighter.

We recently said “a bientot” (see you soon) to the “City of Lights.”  We had such a beautiful time that I hope we will get to see Paris again soon.  I love all the inspiration and ideas I got while exploring the sights, landmarks, and of course, the Maison & Objet trade show, which I posted and shared about in my earlier travel entries.  My mind is swimming with so many fabulous ideas for my clients back home that part of me wants to rush back home now and start working immediately, but alas, we have a quick stop over in London.

While Paris was inspirational, as only Paris can be, London holds equal appeal for me.  Yes, it’s a totally different culture, ambiance and design scene when compared to Paris, but it’s still London and I’m looking forward to soaking in all the sites and sounds of another European experience.  During our first day walking through the damp and chilly streets, we visited many shops on the well-travelled Portotbello Road.  While meandering from store to store, I gleefully came across Cath Kidston’s Shop.  Ms. Kidston is a British designer who specializes in many things one of them being in retro-print fabrics.  I found all her design charming, colorful and whimsical.  Most of her prints consisted of  flowers and polka dots, which in this designer’s mind is a can’t miss when you are attempting to create a lasting and timeless style statement.   While we were visiting the shop, I was elated to learn that Ms. Kidston’s retro fabrics recently have been released as furnishing fabrics for upholstery.  Are you interested in seeing more of her designs including wallpaper, fabric, oil cloth and cushions?  Visit her website at www.CathKidston.com.

In the meantime, for a quick view of her work, here’s a picture I snapped of one of the displays in her shop.  

Cheerio from London! I hope to share more photos and design inspirations throughout the week, and then it’s back home to put all these design ideas to work.  What a field trip this has been!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “London Calling – Travel Entry #4

  1. Diane Plumlee

    What a great start for London! Love the Cath Kidston fabrics…

Leave a Reply

