An Interior Designer in Paris – Travel Entry #2

While at home in the states, one of my favorite ways to see firsthand what’s evolving in the world of home decor and design is to visit a handful of trade shows every year.  Walking through row after row of these massive shows often provides me with a renewed love for my profession, plenty of inspiration, and of course, exercise.  This year I’m so thrilled that one of the shows I’m using to fuel my insatiable need for all things “new in design” is the Maison&Object Show in Paris.  In English that translates to: home fashion showcase,  but doesn’t it sound so much more intriguing and inviting in French?  If you’d like to learn more about the show and I would encourage you to do so, it’s truly a feast for the eyes, you can view pictures of the show’s collections by visiting www.maison-objet.com.

Pieces made from many different types of recycled materials could be found throughout the Maison&Objet show.

During my time at the Maison&Objet show, I was particularly taken with one section of the show that was dubbed “Ethnic Chic.”  Geared toward a more environmentally-consciencous, bohemian, and often younger crowd, these designs are creative, unique and earth friendly.  While walking through this section I saw one of a kind furniture like the piece seen here on the left.

Old textiles made new again.

This was by far my favorite part of the show and apparently the Obama’s designer, Michael Smith of Los Angeles agreed with me!  He just purchased the piece seen hanging on the wall for his showroom from a Belgium exhibitor who collects antique textiles and then “edits” them into her own beautiful and colorful items. I loved them!

After a fabulous day walking the floor,  I was exhausted, but also very grateful that I had the opportunity to see all the items that will dominant interior design in 2012.  If you’re ever in Paris in the winter, I highly recommend you bring an interior design friend along (the show is only open to people in the trade) so you can see for yourself this amazing show!  And in case you’re wondering, I will gladly make myself available to be your travel companion.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “An Interior Designer in Paris – Travel Entry #2

  1. Anonymous

    Maybe I would like to go to Paris, only with you as my guide.
    Deanna

Leave a Reply

